Discuss Zinc-carbon or zinc-chloride? in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

LEricG

-
Reaction score
Hi, first post here. I'm not an electrician so have limited knowledge.
My wife just bought a dog toy from China (a ball that bounces and lights up) and it says that we must use carbon, not alkaline, batteries as the latter will damage the product.
First, why would alkaline damage the item? and
Second, if the carbon batteries are safe would zinc chloride also be safe?
The non-alkaline batteries that I have been looking at in my box are zinc chloride, not carbon.
Thank you,
Eric

Hi, first post here. I'm not an electrician so have limited knowledge.
My wife just bought a dog toy from China (a ball that bounces and lights up) and it says that we must use carbon, not alkaline, batteries as the latter will damage the product.
First, why would alkaline damage the item? and
Second, if the carbon batteries are safe would zinc chloride also be safe?
The non-alkaline batteries that I have been looking at in my box are zinc chloride, not carbon.
Thank you,
Eric
In case the Pooch bites the battery??? Maybe.

Interesting point, Pete, hadn't thought of that, but that poses another question - would one type of battery be any more harmful, if bitten, than any other?

Interesting point, Pete, hadn't thought of that, but that poses another question - would one type of battery be any more harmful, if bitten, than any other?
Well not really it was just a thought that's all.

I would initially suppose that the instructions are poorly worded and should not exclude alkaline cells.
However if there is an internal part that is affected by alkali and not acid (not too likely) then zinc cells may be preferred in case of leakage of the battery.