Discuss Repurposed 3.2 KVA site transformer drawing 56A in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
I never did like transformer theory in my degree course and that was 40 years ago. I'm a boat builder now and we tend to have big battery banks and thus big chargers with all sorts of dodgy stuff going on. I have repurposed a series of power transformers to be used as the basis of high power (5KW) battery chargers. We have used things like old welder transformers and, more recently, 3.2KVA 240:110 site transformers.

We break open the yellow box, take out the trafo, strip down the laminations ("E" and "I"), rewind the bobbin (usually leaving the primary alone but invariably 160 turns (1.6mm diam wire) : 13 turns plus 13 (4 wires in parallel, 2mm diam)). The original windings are 160 : 40 + 40 and the CT is earthed. These seem to work well. We are finding that the original wire is enamelled aluminium but we wind with new enamelled copper.