Currently reading:
3rd Year Apprentice seeks advice urgently :(

Discuss 3rd Year Apprentice seeks advice urgently :( in the Electricians' Talk area at ElectriciansForums.net

S

SparkyBhoy

Alright everyone, i just registered on here for this one post. Im a third year apprentice from glasgow and i can sit my trade test anytime after september, as far as my tradetest goes i feel i am not ready for it although i have passed all my college work to date.
My problem is this for the first two years i worked with a large electrical company which to say the least prioritised their apprentices more as an outlet fdor cheap labour rather than viewing them as there next tier of workers for the future. Basically for my first two years all i done was containment.
8 months ago i moved to a smaller company as i was laid off continually for 5 months. I thought this was going to a new begining for me as i knew time was counting down to my trade test. Unfortunatley for me within this smaller company i tend to be continually labouring or carrying out other building tasks not relevant to my trade.
I now feel to be able to be a competant time served electrician i have no alternative but to train myself be it through the uses of books, internet, or whatever it takes.
I feel disolusioned with the time i have spent training to be an electrician as i have continually through time keeping and effort kept my end of the deal.
I am worried and concerned that if i do not act fast that the last 3 years will have been for nothing and i will be lost to the trade ending up with nothing.

Can anyone advise me what my next step should be. All advice welcome thanks in advance.

Alright everyone, i just registered on here for this one post. Im a third year apprentice from glasgow and i can sit my trade test anytime after september, as far as my tradetest goes i feel i am not ready for it although i have passed all my college work to date.