Discuss Analogue function: S7-200 in the Canada area at ElectriciansForums.net

X

xraytek

Hi guys,
I have no experience with analogue outputs on PLC's, so was hoping someone can confirm or correct the following requirement:

I have a 0-10v scaled input going into my PLC and want that input to be duplicated on one of the analogue outputs.

Is it just a simple case of using MOV-W (move word) with AIW0 going in and AQW0 going out, or do I have to move the word to a memory location and then read from that, or something else completely different?

I have had a look in the manual regarding analogue I/O and can see how you can provide set outputs but not variable ones based on an input.

Thanks in advance.

Not familiar with the plc you use but if your starting up i find the 'siemens logo' very easy to follow and can all be run virtually on the laptop long before you ever connect anything, so you can fiddle and run your programme till your hearts content and then hard wire it after.
I assume your using a laptop to change and alter the logic functions as using the built in LCD and front panel buttons is tedious and mind numbingly fiddley on some models.

hi,
we use allan bradley plc's at work.

you should have a register of all your program and controller tags in your plc program,
find the analog input tag,this may be tagged as "raw in" which is the number of bits aquivelent to your 0-10v in, also note the scaling tags,
create an analog output tag, you can enter your scaling for this analog out put tag in here.
use a move function to move the analog "raw in" to the analog out tag.
if all the output scaling settings are the same as the input settings the analog output will be as the analog input.

Thanks for the replies.
Hi pmac10, the PLC is a Siemens S7-200 and is programmed using Step 7 Microwin.