Discuss Becoming an electrician during covid times.. in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I am new to this forum. I have seen the posts about becoming an electrician, however, given we are living in uncertain times, I would really like some advice on becoming an electrician during the covid years.

I have a degree in electronic engineering and I have been working mainly in quality assurance over the last 10 years. I wish to make a transition and become a qualified electrician. Of course, courses are being impacted and I can see some courses are being adapted for online training.

Is this a good time to start a training and any pitfalls I need to watch out for? I would love to hear from you.

Take care ,thanks

The sooner you start the better.
All,courses courses start with the boring bits like H & Safety. Statutory and non statutory regulations all of which can be done remotely.

Also the theory aspect can be=mostly done remotely. By the time you’ve done that this covid thing will have blown over or we will have to “earn to live with it and you will start the practical side.

biggest piece of advice And most difficult. No matter which route you take. Get practical experience on site with qualified electricians.

Offer to work for free until you are of use and not just in the sparkies way. then dont expect big bucks until your qualified. Then you get big bucks.

An apprentice or trainee is not an asset for electricians like me ( others will disagree, but most wont).
Basically if I have A trainee I cannot leave them on there own to do anything. I have to stand watching them. While I’m watching them I’m not working. Less work is getting done than I if I was on my own.
Also if I do leave them to get on with a task I then have to spend time checking there work.
after 2 or 3 months they should be to a standard where I don’t have to:stand over them.