Discuss Boiler won't work off generator in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Bronco

DIY
Reaction score
As a young man, I was an electrician, but now I'm getting on, I am strictly DIY.

I used to have a cheap old 900W petrol generator connected to a dedicated twin socket which I used to run my gas central heating boiler (plus essential TV) in the event of a power failure. It worked fine, but eventually it gummed up, got harder to start, and the pipes rotted.

So last year I bought a Hyundai P1PE 2200W Portable Petrol Inverter Generator, and religiously test ran it every couple of months to make sure it would start when I needed it. But the first time I needed it, the gas boiler would not fire up - the pump runs, ignition sparks can be seen, but it won't fire. I've since tried it with a load connected to the generator, but still no go. Needless to say, the warranty has run out now.

Looking online, it seems that it might be something to the sine wave not being smooth, or not compatible with the boiler electronic controls.
I wonder if anyone has come across this problem before, and whether there is a relatively easy fix?

The issue is that the new generator has a floating nutrual. I.e it is not connected to earth. It is known as an IT system
I for independent T for terra (earth)

the boiler flame detector is not being recognised as the N is not bonded to earth anywhere.

It may be possible to Bond earth and N together at the generator and the issue will likely be fixed.
you may well need an earth rod as well, and rcd protection should be considered.

It may be possible to Bond earth and N together at the generator and the issue will likely be fixed.
you may well need an earth rod as well, and rcd protection should be considered.