Discuss BS7671 Paperwork + Self-Install in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

R

rsmck

As some of you may know (and express appropriate disdain ;)) I am in the process of rewiring my own home. I am not an electrician by trade nor am I part of any Part P schemes ( I live in Scotland before anyone else tells me it's illegal ;) )

Anyway I have (for my own comfort mainly) been conducting the appropriate tests as I go (R1+R2, IR, Zs, RCD Times etc) and recording the test results.

Question being do you think there is there any point in me recording this (and keeping it safe) in "proper" form on BS7671 compliant forms, effectively producing my own EIC - just think it'd look a little odd to have my own name in every place on it ;) - and would it prove useful to a future occupant 10-15 years down the line if we move on or am I better just to act like a typical DIYer and not bother with paperwork at all.

LABC here do not care if you rewire your own home - have that in black and white as I asked them to confirm if there was any form of notification or consent required at the same time as requesting a building warrant to remove a wall :)

One of the reasons why we test and complete a test certificate is for future reference so the sparky in ten years time whilst hopefully doing a PIR can cross examine his results with yours and decide when the next PIR is to take place or how bad the circuit/circuits have deteriorated. You know what I'm going to say next don't you, please get an electrician in to test and certify this install. There's so much more to this than what you know and a proper inspect and test will show up anything that you've missed, just have a PIR done.