Discuss Business Idea for my company,what do you think? Advice and help needed in the Business Related area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Field service technicians/engineers - Just wondered has anyone decided to go down this route for work?

I am a self employed Electrician here in Dublin but work has gone very slow lately so I was thinking of either applying for a job,or maybe getting involved in the above area through my own company.
I got out of the domestic game a long time ago as I hated it (house wiring etc)and my main area as an Electrical Contractor is sub contracting into companies installing energy saving products,installing and maintaining VSD's and I had a number of contracts on call for various types of factories to maintain and repair plant and machinery.
I thought of maybe getting in touch with various companies in the UK and offering my services to them if they decided to branch out into Ireland.
For example I know of one or two factories in Ireland that have electrical equipment bought from the UK where they have to get a technician over from the UK to repair the product if anything goes wrong.
What I was thinking was I could cut out the cost for the company needing the product repaired as I would not be charging travel/hotel costs etc and it would also mean the UK company would have a presence in Ireland thus making them a more attractive option for Irish companies to do business with them as there would be a 'local' technician/electrician available at short notice.Ireland is fairly small and I can be in any part of Ireland within 3-4 hrs.
If anyone works for a company like this or knows of companies I could contact I would really appreciate it.
Don't worry about me taking work or contracts off you as I am in Ireland and I am only interested in working in Ireland.