Discuss Can I complete a Periodic Inspection? in the Periodic Inspection Reporting & Certification area at ElectriciansForums.net

S

Spoon242

Hey guys,

I have been asked by a work mate it I can complete a Periodic Inspection Report for his brother who is in the middle of buying a house which the insurance company have required a survey of the electric's assessed.
I am booked to take my 2391 in July but they need the report sooner. Would I not be deemed competant to carry out this task if I had not qualified 2391 ya think?

What is the stance on this, Im not very experienced at Periodics due to my company using outside contractors to complete our check because of the size of the place and limited reseource.
Thanks in advannce,

Julian.

In a word Yes you can carry out a PIR if you see yourself as competant without the 2391. Now i see you have stated that you are not experienced at PIR's so only you will know if you are competant to complete one.

The thing about it is that if you do a PIR and there are any reprocussions then the 2391 would be the way to prove that you are competant, without it you could be in diffs.

A word from my assessor....Insurance companies are looking to come together and say any Electrical Condition Reports undertaken by non scheme members without the 2391 will be invalid. Aviva are rallying this!

At present though you are ok