Posting a message to the forum will remove the above advertisement

Discuss Central heating controlled by raspberry pi and relay switch in the Central Heating Systems area at ElectrciansForums.co.uk.

Please make sure you checkout our forum sponsors, many do discounts for members and, they keep the forum free to use.
  1. poumpouris

poumpouris EF Member

Hey guys, im not a professional electrician, I just have a basic knowledge of some stuff.
    In order for me to be able to explain what i want to do, I will first explain what is in place at the moment.
    We have a 3 zone programmer which we never use as a programmer, we just turn on each zone manually when we want.
    So i thought, since this is all done manually i could put together a raspberry pi connected to a 4 channel relay board and control the whole thing from my smartphone. I found all the software and hardware i need and i can make the relays open and close but I am not sure what to connect where on the relay in order to get the central heating to work as it works now.
    Here is a picture of what the wires look like behind the programmer at the moment. The letters for the wires from left to right are: E,N,L,1,3,5
    wires_behind_programmer.jpg

Here is a picture of the relay i have although the picture is of a 2 channel relay instead of 4 channel.
    relay.jpg

From my basic understanding, what i thought i should do is connect N and L together and then connect them to the COM terminal of the relays. Then connect 1,3,5 to the NO of each relay but I'm not really sure and I don't want to burn anything.

Can you please advise me on what to connect where?
    Thank you in advance.

2. buzzlightyear

buzzlightyear Electrician's Arms

have not heard of a system hive or nest ?

3. Matthewd29

Matthewd29 Regular EF Member

What do you mean connect L and N together?

• Agree Agree x 1
  4. Vortigern

Vortigern Electrician's Arms

Business Name:
    F.H. Electrical