Discuss church em lighting in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
hi all hope someone can help

i'm studying my nvq currently working on a church .I was under the impression that all buildings had to have emergency lighting but the spark i'm working for has said the church don't want any

so my question is

is it a legal requirement or do chuches have special rules

all help gratefully appreciated cheers

The fire safety guides state that fire is only one of many safety issues with which management must concern them to minimise the risk of injury or death to staff or the public. Many of the measures needed impact upon other safety issues and vice versa. For emergency lighting this is particularly true of the risks that can occur when occupants are suddenly plunged into darkness in the event of a supply failure, so this consideration should be taken into account in the design of the systems installed.

The effectiveness of the escape routes can be very much affected by the provision of correct emergency lighting which is properly maintained and so as a part of the overall fire precautions risk assessment, the emergency lighting installation(s) or lack of must be examined.

I can't personally think of any type of Public use building that is often used by the public in the hours of darkness not requiring EM lighting of one form or another. I'm pretty sure any risk assessment would confirm this too. Failing that, use some of that common sense that's rarely used these days!! .....