Discuss Computer RFC Testing??? in the Periodic Inspection Reporting & Certification area at ElectriciansForums.net

Paul.M

-
Esteemed
Supporter
Reaction score
I'm scratching my on this because I've never done it before. I'm on a new build school wire with quite a few computer RFC's using 2.5 T&E + a 4mm single Earth that we are just pulling in now. When it comes to us testing these circuits, how do I/we record the results?

Both the 1.5mm CPC and the 4mm Earth will be in the same terminal at each socket therefore creating a parallel path with a higher resistance if only one of them is tested, but these are going to always be like this, so do I record the combine findings or test for continuity on each of the R2's then record the R2 of each on one cert or make another page for one of the findings?

I've got it in my head that we need to do 3 lots of R2 tests and put them all on paper:-

1.5mm CPC
4mm Earth
Combined CPC + separate Earth.

Or is it just me + the QS + another very qualified spark that is having a blond moment???

Am I right in thinking that your 4mm is for HI earthing, if so it needs to be in a seperate terminal at each socket. I may be wrong but I was taught that you need to carry out the usual r1 + r2/r2 tests with the CPC only. Record the value of the HIEC but don't use it as part of your calculation when working out/measuring Zs.

Like I said, I may be wrong and need correcting but I remember this is the way I was taught.

only 1 reading is to be recorded , and as the 4mm is performing the role of cpc as well as the t&e , then take measurement of both combined would be my solution.

Daft Q #3 (there will be loads more!!) I thought a separate earth was only needed on the end of a radial (i.e. L&N are radial, earth is a ring) back to the CU and at each socket the in and out earth (in the t+e) should use the separate earth terminals to ensure if one drops out there will still be a path to earth?