Discuss Continuity values keeps going down. in the Electrical Tools and Products area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
So bought a second hand Megger BM233 to practice with as I'm a college student..

So I was just using it on a loose 2.5 cable. Testing on the neutral from both sides . Whilst having the device on the Ohm side. I nulled it to zero by touching the probes.

When I do the dead test. It starts off with figures likes 0.22 . Then goes downwards until it gets to 0.0 and sometimes even with a negative -0.0

Does anyone know what this is?

At those low values the resistance at the contact points of the test leads is significant. Are you clipping your test leads on to the cable?

Don't worry about the 0.00 or -0.00

Whilst having the device on the Ohm side. I nulled it to zero by touching the probes.
I presume you pressed test too, as this does the nulling?
Then to ask the obvious, I presume you are NOT pressing test when you put the clips on your test cable?
(Anyone used to other testers makes this mistake at first with Meggers)

I presume you pressed test too, as this does the nulling?
Then to ask the obvious, I presume you are NOT pressing test when you put the clips on your test cable?
(Anyone used to other testers makes this mistake at first with Meggers)

Yes I press the test to null and then I don't press the test again when I'm testing as it does it automatically.

Reply to Continuity values keeps going down. in the Electrical Tools and Products area at ElectriciansForums.net

Similar Threads

Please advise what I should test / check next. My usual qualified electrician who did all of the work here is in Ireland for 4 weeks and not...
Replies
Views
Hi all, first post, and pre-emptive thank you for your help. In anticipation of redoing all of the wiring with the computer I'm putting together...
Replies
Views
G