Search the forum,

Discuss Crimping and plastering over? in the Australia area at ElectriciansForums.net

DNS1

-
Esteemed
Reaction score
Asked about this a while back, but read a few things since that have made me wonder if I was doing the right thing...

Got to join 2 pieces of T+E in the middle of a wall for a light switch. The rest of the cabling is plastered over. I'm intending to plaster over the joint too when it's made (currently it's a joint box hanging out a hole in the wall)

I don't want to have to leave it accessible (don't want a box/blanking plate halfway up the wall) so planned to crimp and sleeve, then plaster in.

Was told a while back that this method was compliant, but now I'm not so sure (read a few posts on another forum).

Any tips would be much appreciated. I'm not a pro sparks (obviously!) but intend to be one in few years so want to make sure I get these things right from the beginning.

I may be wrong but I doubt it would comply, it's not something I'd be comfortable doing mate. I would either pull a new cable in which would not take that long or if you can get access joint it above the switch drop. New cable is the way forward though

As long as the crimping is done properly (with ratchet crimp pliers) and you reinstate the sheath with heatshrink or self amalgamating tape (several layers) then you may bury the joint in plaster.

Personally, can't see an issue so long as the whole joint is robust and done properly. You could actually argue that the short lengths of conductor INSIDE the crimps are mechanically more protected than the rest of the cable. Crimp and shrink is an approved MF method, plastering cable is an approved method. So where's the problem?

I have on occasion had to use this method.

You need to heatshrink the entire cable afterwards (replacing the sheath), also it is better to stagger your crimps to save a bit of space amongst other reasons.