Discuss Domestic Earth Bonding Concerns and Advice Needed Please. in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

M

makken

I am currently renovating the missus house and have noticed a couple of things i need advice about, i am a qualified builder and plumber and have quite a bit of knowledge of domestic property electrics but i do 'NOT' carry out any electrical work myself as i do like to adhere to regulations :yesnod:. Anyway i believe we have a TN−C−S (P.M.E) System and the main earth conducter goes in to the little black box 'Main Earth Terminal' as shown in pic but my 'concern' is i have noticed that the main earth bonding to services goes from main earth terminal outside to the main earth terminal in the consumer unit, then from the consumer unit earth terminal the earth wire goes to the gas meter but this is my concern, from the same earth clamp at the gas meter the earth wire goes to the water pipe and is clamped under the sink. I thought the main bonding to services should be separate, so two separate earth wires from the consumer unit earth terminal to water and gas and correct me if i'm wrong but it is ok for the main earth bonding to services to come from the consumer units earth terminal.
Here are pics of the current way its wired 'diagram' and my outside meter box showing the P.M.E earthing terminal with earth wire going to consumer unit, and picture of inside wall where the earth from consumer unit goes through the wall to outside gas meter clamp and the the earth comes back through the wall from gas meter clamp to the water pipe under the sink.
My Main Earth Bonding to Services.jpg
Outside Main Box.jpgEarth Wires From Gas Meter.JPG