Discuss EICR meter tails coding in the Periodic Inspection Reporting & Certification area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Morning fellas,

Just a quick question if you don't mind,
Doing a EICR and came across what looks like 6mm tails from the meter to the rcd,
iv never seen tails thats small before,
the dno fuse is 60a and its a tt system.

What code would you use please,
Many thanks :)

14964202_10157679890835597_1027030161_o.jpg

14964202_10157679890835597_1027030161_o.jpg

6mm single core cables can take 47A clipped direct, Mr Nicholas, so with a 60A main fuse I'd be inclined to say a C2 because it could be dangerous with a large load. However, I'm still learning in this game so I'd see what others say too.

Also, pretty sure there's some argument out there that tails can have a CCC less than the main fuse provided the maximum demand of the property isn't going to pull more than the tails can handle.

6mm single core cables can take 47A clipped direct, Mr Nicholas, so with a 60A main fuse I'd be inclined to say a C2 because it could be dangerous with a large load. However, I'm still learning in this game so I'd see what others say too.

Also, pretty sure there's some argument out there that tails can have a CCC less than the main fuse provided the maximum demand of the property isn't going to pull more than the tails can handle.

Cheers fella,
Much appreciated, i was thinking on the same lines as you but was doubting myself.

those tails are at least 10mm. if they show no signs of thermal damage, then a C3 at worst,unless the loadof the installation has increased above what it has been for years.

Just to throw a spanner in the works but the meter tails are technically owned by the supplier so a c2'isn't really appears as you can't fix them.

A note on the cert imho

Just to throw a spanner in the works but the meter tails are technically owned by the supplier so a c2'isn't really appears as you can't fix them.

A note on the cert imho