Discuss Electrician wiring their own home paperwork in the Australia area at ElectriciansForums.net

P

part p is pooh

Hi everyone, im new to this forum thing but need a little help. Im a qualified electrician but have never worked for myself only for contracting companies so am not used to the paperwork side of things.

I will be rewiring my own house soon and am wondering what authority i need and if i need to register any testing forms in this case the electrcal installation certificate and how to sign off the work although i have my 2391 inspection and testing qualification i obviously dont have a registered company to sign off the testing cert. Without begging an engineer at my firm or paying another registered spark to sign off some certs im not sure . thanks in advance guys any help would be great cheers.

Last edited by a moderator:
What is your reason for wanting the work to be registered under part p ?

1/ Because that is the way the law stands and you are a model citizen
or
2/ Because you believe all part p work is actually done through those channels,
or
3/ You have not considered why you may not bother going through those channels

Not being funny about this but why not ask the guys you work with to just do it as a favour.

If they reckon your works up to it they will.

Something’s not ringing true here!

Last edited by a moderator:
i dont want it to be registered through part p in fact i dont believe in part p as it is a false qualification which is ruining the industry. I just want to rewire my house and want to make sure that its registered correctly pwork wise and is all legitimate when i sell the property

then either pay Labc to inspect the work or register and otify after even though you should technically still notify labc before starting ad pay there scam fee which is £190 here or pay elecsa or similar and regsiter with them either way its a scam