Discuss Floor cutter in the Electrical Tools and Products area at ElectriciansForums.net

G

GrannySmiff

Hi,

I was talking to a spark (I am new to the game) and he was telling me about a floor/hole cutter that if its chip board you can cut the hole but from what he was saying it puts a bit of plastic back down in the hole as well as the circle you have chopped out and that's the hole filled no need for any fillets and nails?. Has anybody heard of this what is it called?.

Also how do you guys cut the tongue and grove in floorboards/chipboard? I have been using a fein but I think a circular saw might be good for chipboard as the fein takes ages on that , what other options are there.

I struggle with my Fein - but mainly cos I'm too tight to buy another blade at moment. :D

I've been thinking about going for this one at TLC - but don't know how well it works...

Cavity Access Master Kit

Also heard about new Exakt saw, but fraid no experience of that either. On paper it looks like it could be useful.

Last edited by a moderator:
Oh lord no.....
I suffer from a tool addiction and you have just showed me something else that I now feel that I need to purchase!

The kit you describe sounds like Trend Routabout

It is a good piece of kit I have one myself been using it for about 20 years had to replace the cutter a couple of times as chipboard is not the best material to cut

Routabout, Underfloor Access - Trend

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VBPNjgfYQos"]YouTube - Trend Routabout Jig[/ame]

I also have the Armeg solid board cutter for smaller access holes

Forgot to add if you go for the routabout get the 1/2" shank cutter I find it better than the 1/4" one and go for as powerful router that you can. I currently use an Erbauer from Screwfix

Last edited:
Looks like a very professional finish - and great for repeat access.