Discuss Hi guys, looking to change career in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

T

Tom cordey

Hello, I'm hoping you guys here can give me some advice! I'm currently living in Leeds, I'm 25 and a full time chef, I've been doing this for about 7 years but I think the time has come to move on. I dunno if anyone is familiar with cheffing but the days are long and the pay is bad, stress is high and the hours suck. I don't want to be working every weekend leaving my family at home and finishing work when everyone else is asleep and then leaving before they wake up.

I don't want you to think that I'm after an easy job - I'm looking for a challenge but with something as an end goal, which I don't have in this career - I don't see ever owning my own restaurant due to failure rates and stuff.. anyway, I digress.

I'm really interested in becoming an electrician - I wanted to do it straight out of school but family pressures didn't allow it and I followed a levels with the intent of uni but it just didn't pan out like that.

I'm here to get some advice on what route I can take into this trade. I'm at a total loss to what qualifications would be best, what the different things let you do in the real world, etc.

From my researching there are either colleges or independents where you fast track it and pay a hefty price, which I'm happy to do but I don't know if they actually give you anything valuable at the end. I don't mind putting money and work into getting the qualifications I need to work.. I just don't want to waste my money and get something useless.

I can pretty much full time it, as I can still chef on evenings/weekends hopefully but I wouldn't be able to do an apprenticeship as I can't afford to only earn that. I can easily dedicate 3-5 days a week to education for it and as I said - I really want to make the move over.

Thanks for reading and hopefully you gents and ladies can give me some insight as to what I should be doing..