Discuss Newbie hello, plus advice! in the Australia area at ElectriciansForums.net

P

PaulRoss

Hi all,

I've just registered with the Forum with the hope of getting a few answers to my questions and also with the hope of finding out a bit more about the trade!

So, I'll tell you a bit about myself!

I'm currently serving in the Royal Navy as a Marine Systems Engineer, I have been in the service now for a little under 8 years. I have a Foundation Degree in Marine Systems Engineering through carring out an Engineering apprenticeship and have some experience of working with Three Phase generation and three phase equipment, I also have management qualifications and lots of experience in the Marine industry! My role at the minute does involve more mechanical aspects than electical!

I intend on leaving the Navy in approximately 12 months and it is my intention to become a civilian electrician, I therefore have a few questions which I'm hoping you guys can answer! I will receive quite a decent amount of funding from the Navy to enable me to carry out courses when I decide to leave!

I have done my research on potential courses and I have realised that the best electrician qualifications to have are the likes of:

C & G Inspection and Testing
C & G PAT testing
C & G 17th Edition Wiring Regs
C & G Part one and Two qualifications

Do you agree and are there any other relevant courses???

What are the most important of the above courses???

I have seen many companies offering around seven week courses and giving some good electrical qualifications to enable me to start as a civilian electrician, do any of you guys have opinions or experience of these companies and is this the best route for someone in my position??? I understand many electricians serve lots of time in an aprenticeship to enable them to get to a high standard!