Discuss Advice on the best EV chargers in the Electric Vehicles Advice Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
I am an NICEIC contractor but I have never installed an Electric vehicle charger. I have watched all of the relevant NICEIC webinars (The wire) on the subject and familiarised my self with all of the regulations etc and my next step is to enroll on some of the manufacturers online courses. I am asking for advice from electricians with experience of installing EV chargers regarding the best products (manufacturers of EV chargers) in their experience. What chargers do you recommend ? What is a good charger for me to start with ?
My thoughts are that the charger must have a built in RCD (type A) with full functionality which complies with regulation:
722.531.3.101 and include a test button others wise the charger will not comply with BS 7671 (unless the correct RCD type is fitted upstream)
I think that it must also have the built facility of PEN fault detection (OPEN device)
Also it must be 'smart' and also the user interface should be fairly user friendly in the APP.
Are there any manufacturers you can recommend ? before I spend time on specific manufacturer training.

Thanks

I'll be watching this thread with interest, as I'm not much further along the road from you and have similar questions.

My observations so far:
Most charge points have built in PEN protection these days.

There is a distinction point that you have mentioned - some have a REAL built in RCD, and some have a RDC-DD. The latter need a REAL Type A RCD/RCBO upstream. It sounds like you have twigged this from what you write above.

The next distinction point - particularly pertinent to 60 amp fuses, is some have a hardware configured grid limit (a physical switch inside) and some rely on software configuration to do this. In some cases this leaves the customer able to turn off the grid limit. I'm really uncomfortable