Discuss NICEIC, NAPIT or ELECSA in the Business Related area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi all.

Im looking into going at it on my own, 2391 booked and potential contracts in the pipe line, the question is what governing body is best to go with?
any views would be much appreciated.

Are your contracts for EICRs and testing? I ask because you mention the 2391. If so, none of them as they aren't required for testing and inspecting.

If you want to notify work through one of them, then I would go through ELECSA.

The 2391 is good to have, and definately recommended.

I was asking because you don't need scheme/scam membership to carry out tests and inspections, you need to be qualified and experienced. Do you have any other qualifications? I believe that the schemes will soon be requiring Level 3 qualifications or that you are taking them, for full scope membership.

I have plenty of experience, level 3 qualifications and updated to 17th edition, without a scheme/scam surely you would have to go through building control every time making it more costly?

Yes, absolutely for work that needs to be notified. So with what you're proposing you do need scheme membership, and I would suggest ELECSA but other people will have their preferences too.

All I was getting at is that if your contracts were test and inspect only, then you don't need to join a scheme. But they're not, so you do :)

Loft conversions come under building control so you do not need to be part p registered as all works are under building control (if you show them you qualifications they will most likely allow you to certificate your own works, but this depends on the LBCA you work for)
conservatories are not under building control and if you are only altering an existing circuit then this does not come under part p also

The above opinion is from my own experience with 5 different LBCA

Another opinion of mine is
Go for NIC if you wish to eventually become an approve contractor