Discuss No power to section of ring main. in the Periodic Inspection Reporting & Certification area at ElectriciansForums.net

E

Edwar65

Hi all, I'm a newbie to site so please be gentle with me on this query! I attended a house recently to repair a damaged socket/back box on an upstairs ring main. However after isolating and repairing the socket in the bedroom concerned, the householder said that none of the sockets had worked in the room concerned since the day before, which I duly checked on power up and were found to be dead. 2 of the sockets look as though they are on the ring with an additional spurred socket a total of 3 in all.
The householder has confirmed that all other sockets upstairs are working. As the fuseboard has been partially boxed in I was unable to check within the CU without removing a section of 4x2 wood that blocks one of the CU securing screws.
I will be re-attending the house next week and as I have limited fault finding experience, wondered what the best procedure would be to try and find the cause of the fault without pulling up floorboards etc?
I have access to all relevant test meters and experience of test procedures.
many thanks for any help

Hum... take your tools, your MFT and a notebook and pen.

If you can't open the CU your only choice is to do the necessary tests at a socket - but remember that when doing any IR tests you will need to switch off the RCD or man switch to ensure that the N-E is isolated.

Once you have a "ring" confirmed you can work from there.....

Sounds to me that you will probably locate a spur off a socket with a few sockets on it!

Please let us know what you find.

First on the list is to advise customer that before you arrive on your planned visit, is to make sure the CU is full accessible so you can carry out safe testing. Thats just common sense :)