Discuss Owed money in the Business Related area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi i'm fairly new to the self employed scene, was on the books for 13 years. Well anyway I did some work for a guy to pull one of his job out of the s@#t so to speak, but only worked 12 days. Six months down the line he still hasnt paid up in full. What is the best way of getting the money back what I am owed. I'm sick of him fobbing me off now with "yes this thursday etc"

I'm about to print the forms off for the small claims court but is the any other ways to get it back? As i would have court fee etc.

I'd love to go up to his office, guns blazing, base ball bat in hand etc but this isnt going to help me one bit.

Any help appreciated

Small claims would your best bet, do you have proof he owes you money. Like a order for the works to be carried out.

You will get your fees back should you win the case so the small outlay will be refunded.

only proof i have is my invoice so to speak, was hourly paid and travel expences. Also have many texts messages saying "sorry etc and it will go in you're bank this thursday"

only proof i have is my invoice so to speak, was hourly paid and travel expences. Also have many texts messages saying "sorry etc and it will go in you're bank this thursday"

Text messages should be enough to prove he owes you money as long it says he does owe you monies.

I heard that even if the court goes in your favour you may still struggle to get money. Do you know any big blokes you could lend you baseball bat to? If he's in business you could put a few words out about him being a bad payer.

Yes Joe i read about that last night about having to go back to the courts to get the judge to put an order in for him to pay. I think I could be quit handy with a baseball bat my self.

Last edited:
hI dr+p3pper, good luck with collecting what's due to you.

I'll put this in the business section for you as it's not really a general electrical issue.