Discuss PIR confused in the Periodic Inspection Reporting & Certification area at ElectriciansForums.net

V

v8again

Hi all

I had been wiring and rewiring houses for 40 years on and off but qualified as a Domestic installer 3 years ago simply to rewire my house and sign it off.

As a semi retired electronics engineer I now need a bit of part time work and a friend in a local estate agent has offered me PIR work for rental properties and house buyers.

I see in the forum that charges are £90-300 for PIR's that seem to be installation reports not PIR's, has there been a change in regulations as form 6 I have looks no more than an hours work.

On another note do you think local electricians would welcome a service that would refer 100% of any work needed to local contractors. ?

Chris

PIRs are now referred to as EICRs. a 9 page document covering test/inspection of existing installations. to do a proper job, could take from 4 hours upwards. hence the cost. avearage house would be half a day test/inspect and an hour or so to complete the cert. so at least £150.

Hi all

I had been wiring and rewiring houses for 40 years on and off but qualified as a Domestic installer 3 years ago simply to rewire my house and sign it off.

As a semi retired electronics engineer I now need a bit of part time work and a friend in a local estate agent has offered me PIR work for rental properties and house buyers.

I see in the forum that charges are £90-300 for PIR's that seem to be installation reports not PIR's, has there been a change in regulations as form 6 I have looks no more than an hours work.

On another note do you think local electricians would welcome a service that would refer 100% of any work needed to local contractors. ?

Chris

Is that the meaningless Visual Condition Report?

can't be meaningless. it's endorsed by God ( god spelt in hebrew as niceic)