Discuss Re. FP751si Danfoss Programmer in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Lojong777

DIY
Reaction score
Hi all @ef.net, I'm a newbie to the forum; this is my first post. The Danfoss FP715si programmer that had been in use for about 8-9 years began to malfunction (so it seems).
Although the programmer is programed and had functioned normally, it has begun, also, to operate randomly outside of the programmed timings. Some checks/maintenance had been done beforehand : checked 3 way valve operation, bled rad's and pump and checked that programmer was operating in accord with set timings, then along came those 'extra' random, unprogrammed operations - wake up in the middle of the night in a sweat!

If the consensus is that the programmer is bust, I could buy a replacement from plumbvent.co.uk (anyone used that Co?)

Any advice and ideas very welcome.
Regards Lojong777

Thanks re. the 'sticking-in' buttons tip; none are sticking-in. Will do voltage checks, soon, on the 3-way valve through its switching sequences + contacts in HW & Room stat's and at boiler and pump and so on! A curse on Benjamin Franklin and his kite.

There is a recent thread on here concerning this programmer.
There's a capacitor inside that drops the voltage that the electronics run down from 230V down to something more suitable. This capacitor can slowly fail over the years, until the programmer starts to give problems.
Note that is must be replaced with a X1 or X2 at worst version.

There is a recent thread on here concerning this programmer.
There's a capacitor inside that drops the voltage that the electronics run down from 230V down to something more suitable. This capacitor can slowly fail over the years, until the programmer starts to give problems.
Note that is must be replaced with a X1 or X2 at worst version.

Hi, Not clear on the meaning of
....... 'must be replaced with a X1 or X2 at worst version'.