Discuss Remotely monitor and disconnect off grid PV/Hybrid system - is this possible? in the Solar PV Forum | Solar Panels Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
I am doing a a research project (and I'm a newbie!) and I need to know if its feasible somehow to disconnect a PV array (and possibly a wind turbine) from the batteries storage should that need needed for safety reasons, to prevent any possibility of damaging the batteries.
Firstly I'd imagine a correctly designed system would have the wind turbine dumping any excess load to something like a water tank to prevent this and a charge controller would do the same for the PV array, however how effective is this likely to be?
I ask as the building is likely to be unoccupied for around 7 days, in every month and its in a fairly remote location so it is crucial that the system is fail safe and that the batteries (or whatever else may go wrong) don't overheat and get ruined, or worse still burn the place down.
Is it just sensible to disconnect all appropriate systems when leaving the building empty for a week, or can as I was hoping, can the system be left connected safely so it can take advantage of the zero demand for a week and recharge the batteries fully?
The building can be connected to a 3G wifi modem so I was hoping there was a fancy way of monitoring the system remotely via the web and if necessary shut things down.
thanks

Properly designed systems are designed to cope with battery failures, overcharging etc.

The scale and type of controls and measures depends upon the generation and storage capacities.

PV systems are by their nature controllable on their output, small wind however usually dumps to a dump load, basically a heater exposed to the outside air. Depending upon wether you are AC or DC focussed with your generation depends upon how it is all done.