Discuss Scottish electrician potentially moving to London in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi all, I'm an fully qualified electrician based in Dundee, Scotland. I have just completed my BS 7671 Amendment 2 course and my 2391-52 Inspection and Testing course.
There's a chance i may be moving to London some time in the near future and i am looking for any information and advice on a few things. Such as, whether i need to get any different qualifications to work in England/London? How easy will it be to find work? Should i try and find employment or should i start up my own business? Are there any areas of the city where driving a van is particularly difficult and expensive? Can you recommend which neighbourhoods i should avoid for living and working in? How much can i expect to earn as an employee? Will my 2391 qualification make any difference as to my likelihood of finding employment?
You get the idea! There are a million questions i could ask! If anyone can answer any of these or suggest any further topics i should consider it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

I think London is the wrong place. It’s saturated with electricians charging silly money and doing half assed jobs… (if past forum threads are to be believed)

I would expect driving anywhere would be very costly, with the pollution charges and parking. Accommodation will be sky high too…. So don’t go there with Dundee hourly rates in your head. Double it, and add some.

Get your SJIB gold card…. It might not be needed, but it’s a small expense that could get you into a big construction job.

Get your SJIB card as stated above. This will enable you to transfer over to the english version of the same card. Then you can simply find your feet working for agencies/firms for a few months or longer if you wish. The ecs/cscs card is worth adding when you are down south which you will need to get on any major sites.