Discuss Some advice: Power to a shed in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Kay9

-
Reaction score
Hi all. I’ve joined the site to ask for a quick bit of advice.

Please note, I’m not an electrician, I will be hiring one to complete the bulk of the work required, but I would basically like to know what are my limits in terms of DIY. Not only is money tight, I also need to carry out some prep work before the real ‘sparky’ jobs begin, so I thought it would make sense to put as much in place as possible beforehand. I’m just not sure how far I’m allowed to go while remaining Part P compliant.

Basically, I would like to run power to a shed that will eventually be about 15 metres from the house. I just need power for 3-4 sockets, an indoor light and an outdoor light. The shed doesn’t even exist yet, and before it’s constructed, I need to do a lot of work in the surrounding garden, including addition of a new lawn. As I already need to carry out a lot of digging, I thought it would make sense to already get the trench dug for the SWA. What I was wondering is:

• Can I pre-bury an SWA cable and turf over? Or will this need to be physically inspected/witnessed?
    • Ideally, when I get the electrician in, the SWA will be ready to hook up at both ends and test etc
  • Finally, once the SWA has been appropriately terminated in the shed at a CU (or whatever the electrician decides), can I then wire up all of the internal sockets and lights etc myself? Once the SWA is terminated in the shed, can it then be considered indoor wiring, or are there still extra precautions that need to be considered?
    • This would just save me a bit of time, as I can decide on locations etc last minute, as opposed to when the electrician is physically here (want to avoid needing him out twice if possible)

I would appreciate any advice on this topic

It would be unusual to find a spark willing to do only part of the work.