Discuss STRANGE NEUTRAL CURRENT !!!! in the Commercial Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Morning fellow practicioners of the dark art we call ELEKTRICKARY , I have recently been ask by a close freind if i thought his electric bill seemed "A SLIGHTLY BIT HIGH!!!". So he showed me it and I nearly fell off my bar stool (forgot to say he is a publican),his usage breakdown has come back at 269KWH now wait for it ..........per day . Now i admit i am no expert on metering rates etc , but i am 47 and started my apprenticeship when i was 16 , so have a few years under my belt , have been self employed from 21 till now and have run / designed/tested jobs from an extra socket to 20/30 million £ new builds and refits. So i am throwing myself out there to see if i am missing something bloody stupid . I have calculated his total load from fridges etc info plates lights by counting and added about another 30A on top , and it comes to 119A total . Now this is spread over a 415V 3 phase supply , which i have clamp metered up and monitered the indivdual cores which average out Brown/red- 23A , black/yellow- 19A & Grey/blue - 42A , oh and the neutral comes back with 38A on it.This obviuosly is nowhere near 269KWH , and was thinking this rouge N current must be from a dodgy connection on supply side ? It is also obviously a potential overheating risk i would have thought ? So does anyone have any thoughts to help me out PLEASE . thanks for reading my bumbbling thought train Simon

from the phase currents you quoted, the N current should be approx. 20A for that unbalanced load.

also,from another thread, it appears that your customer is billed on the phase with the highest current, i.e. 42A in this case.

from the phase currents you quoted, the N current should be approx. 20A for that unbalanced load.

also,from another thread, it appears that your customer is billed on the phase with the highest current, i.e. 42A in this case.