Discuss Training options in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

R

robjgriff

Hi

I'm sure you must get this sort of post all the time and thanks to Guitarist for offering advice. Sadly I can't send personal messages as yet so can't respond.

I was an electrical apprentice as a youngster and have done lots of simple housewiring over the years. I certainly need to top up my electrical skills, learn how to test and get up to speed on regs etc
It is clear that I need to become a member of a professional body.

Can anyone advise me on the best route? Should I speak to one of the bodies first?
I am worried about paying circa 2K to attend a 17day course which promises the world!

Any advice from people in the know would be appreciated!

Thanks in advance
Rob

Hi

Thanks for the responses.

I did a ONC and HNC in elec engineering and have taught a bit of physics myself. No stranger to ohms law etc.

I'm leaving my current job as a full time teacher at Christmas and will be working part time as a teacher. I'd like to slowly build up a small local elecrical buisness just doing day to day house wiring etc.

I will look into the 17th edition courses at college.

Are these 4 week intensive courses any use? They are around £1700.
Don't really wish to waste my money if they are not really useful in getting me up to speed again and qualified.

Thanks for the advice so far
Rob

The amount of times ive had to explain to people that you can't become an electrician in a month must be in 3figures. Do these people think i woulda spent 3years at college + many more years hands on experience if you could do it and be fully competent in a month haha.

Reply to Training options in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Similar Threads

NORWEB had an electrical training centre in Chorley, Little Carr lane known as the Daniel Training Ctr. I understand it was built in the 1970's...
Replies
Views