Discuss Two single phases through one isolator? in the Commercial Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

S

schooleydoo

Morning guys,

I'm new to this so bear with me!

I have two 16a single phase machines that I want to supply with a single cable. I want to use one neutral and earth for two separate circuits. Is this possible? I seem to remember when N is a load carrying conductor, combining two loads could burn it out?

Also, can I use a three phase isolator switch (like this) and just leave L3 empty?

Like this:

Untitled-3.png

Last edited by a moderator:
bad design there, mate. as it's drawn, your N cable has to carry the load of both machines.

Yeah thats what I was wondering too, with my load carrying conductor comment. Ah well, thank you for clarifying :)

Assuming no problems if I took two Neutral lines back to the consumer unit? Any ideas on the switch?

you could feed to the isolator in 6mm, then split to the 2 ocpd's in 2.5mm, 1 for each machine. however, i would fit separate isolaters, each 1 fed from DB, with the ocpd's in the DB, not after the isolator. the feed has to be protected at the DB with MCB/RCBO, so why fit additional ocpd's?

Last edited:
I think I may be overcomplicating things!

We are installing machines at a industrial site. The customer wants to be able to switch both machines on from a single point, at the machine itself. So I want to put both machines circuits through one isolator switch and mount on the side of the machine.

I wasn't sure about the customers protection on the DB, so thought it best to protect our machines ourselves.

The customers supply will be three phase. So I thought I could use L1 for machine A, L2 for machine B and terminate L3 at my isolator switch and go no further with it. I would then run two Neutral lines back to the DB, one for each machine. Would this work?