Discuss Van or estate in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

M

miserly

Hi, I have been offered a rather nice Vectra estate (I know,sexy or what?) and was wondering if any one else
owns such a magnificent beast. Does it look professional turning up in a car rather than a van,considering that an affordable van for me is going to be tatty. I am just starting out as a domestic spark after years in maintenance,and so at least for the first year,money is likely to be tight,what with instruments and registration so this may be a way to save having to run two vehicles. I wouldn't leave tools in a van anyway,so that at least isn't an issue at least. Cheers,Ian

you can look a bit like a DIY person working from an estate car even tho your not, its just perception,years ago i worked from a car and i always felt a bit less professional and slightly below other electricians especially parked at wholesalers

Saving grace is, if it is unmarked it is less likely to be broken into.
You will have to consider ladders and big stuff.
ladders on an estate don't look the part.
Personally , it's horses for courses.

Don't worry about what it looks like.
If it gets you and your tools to the job and home again then that's all you need.
Doing a good job with a professional approach will do far more good than a pretty vehicle.

I work out of a tatty old landrover, I can say it's ever bothered me how it looks.

when I started I rocked a volvo 940, what I found the most annoying thing was, even though it was a big estate, that I'd struggle to get everything in. so I was planning for jobs and taking what I needed, invariably needing something I'd not planned for. as such brought a van within 2 months.

Big disadvantage of most estate vehicles is that you can see what's in the back! unless its got heavily tinted windows....