Search the forum,

Discuss VAT issues with suppliers in the Business Related area at ElectriciansForums.net

S

superlec

Hi all, i'm new to all this so please forgive me for any errors but i was so annoyed earlier i needed somewhere to vent my frustration and also to find out whether any other sparks/trades have had a similar problem. I recently bought a lot of led lighting from a company called led hut, i placed my order online- no problem, order turned up about a week later - no problem, installed the lights - no problem. since my first order i have probably ordered about £1200 worth of leds. My problem began yesterday when i got a call from my accountant saying that i couldn't claim the VAT back as led hut operate out of jersey and to make matters worse i have now become liable for nearly £250 VAT on the led lights. When i rang them to find out what the situation was i was told that it was up to me whether or not i wanted to claim the VAT. Has anyone experienced similar issues?

If you are VAT registered, and you have added VAT to all goods and services on your invoice then you have already charged the customer the VAT for the lights. which in turn they have paid to you so you can pay the £250 VAT on the lights and jobs a good un no? If they want you to pay £250 VAT for your order they you can then get this VAT back

claiming VAT back isn't a good way of describing it. you are not claiming it back you are working as an unpaid tax collector. the VAT you add on to your bill belongs to the government and you are collecting it on there behalf and passing it on to them.

The Jersy VET loophole was closed as of 1st Jan this year. I use a company called 7 day shop for printer inks etc, as they are the cheapest. But i have never been able to claim VAT on them as they dont charge it.

You cannot be out of pocket as you never paid VAT. Unless you assumed the price for them included it in the first place!!!