Discuss Wanting to be a Sparky, but don't drive a manual. in the Business Related area at ElectriciansForums.net

R

Raider

Hi all.

I'm 22, and currently working, although its a dead end job.

Don't get me wrong, its okay and the pay is okay for what I do and it pays the bills, but I've been doing it for about 4 years now and really would like to learn a skill in something.

People have told me to look into plumbing or being a electrician.

At first thought Electrician obviously appeals to me more.

Although one down side I fear, the vehicles, like the vans etc if i'm ever called out to someones house I'm obviously going to need to drive right?

I only drive a automatic car at the moment, would you say that it was imperative for an electircian to have a automatic license?

Your chances of being employed would be reduced so best route would probably be self employed with your own van. Try and pass a manual test as autos tend to be a bit more expensive to run and every penny counts.

Decide what sort of work you want to do ie domestic only or everything, once you have decided that get into your local college cheapest route and also google business link and do one of their free courses on starting your own business.

Good luck

Chris

On a serious note now, years ago when growing up, there was an old fella who lived near to us. He used to do paving, fencing and the like.

Never had a van or car, but would have all his gear in a wheelbarrow. You'd often see him stroling along pushing his barrow stacked full of tools.

Raider