Discuss why do most people put you down in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi guys,

Recently when im studying at college and on my work days as a mate, i constantly hear the same old moaning from electricians saying 'if i could pick something else back in ur time it sure wouldnt be this' ..i always hear this from them and to be honest it really can discourage you...there nice blokes but when it comes to their job views they seem to look down on themselves... i like electrics, and would jsut like to ask is the trade really that bad, is there no future job prosepcts in it?....u have probably heard this so many times jsut really annyoing me...

but then what else is there to do?,, office jobs are just as **** and boring and offer no 100% job security..

Stick with it mate. Make your own path. I love my job and always have done. Sure there will be bad days, weeks and months but all in all. I love it.

I tried to talk 2 of my sons out of being sparks but they didn't listen.

I really just wanted something better for them as this job takes its toll on your body after a while. I've been in the game for 30 years and I must say I love it really but my knees and back are screwed. Saying that one of them has completed his apprenticeship and the other is in his 3rd year and both are doing well at it.

I love my job. I'm 52 now, one Friday when I was 16 my school closed it's doors to me and on the Monday I started my apprenticeship. In those days being an electrician was a goal few reached, it was a very well respected trade. Now it's not like that so much.
However, for someone who, as you appear to be, wants to work at it and learn then the world can still be your oyster, just don't give up on the studying and always reach for the next goal which might appear at the time to be unreachable but trust me, it isn't.