Discuss Working for yourself?? in the Business Related area at ElectriciansForums.net

LEO

-
Reaction score
Hi Guys,

I would just like some honest opinions regarding the above please. I currently work as an Electrician (employed by a company), been working as an Electrician for about 14yrs now (various lines/types of industry). I feel now perhaps it's time to move on and work for myself. I have got many questions and unclear things about doing this i.e, what is the process with regards to certification, can I do it myself or do I have to be registered with the NICEIC first due to Part P etc. Do I have to notify building control before any work is carried out, basically I want to be able to do the work and certification myself without the hassle of getting other people involved etc.

Is there decent money in it, or is it not worth the aggro? Competion of work?

I would like to hear from any subbies or guys running there own business' as Electrical Contractors.

Much appreciated, Cheers LEO.

hi leo

you really need to register with one of the competent person schemes if you are serious about doing domestic work as going through building control will ultimately cost you a small fortune :eek:

as with competition its the same as most bsuinesses in that once you get your name out there and start getting recommendations and repeat business you will have cracked it :) up until then though you will ahve to compete with some sparks that quote very unrealistic prices you cant compete with :mad: but on the upside you will have the last laugh when you go and put their cock ups right ;)

no time is a good time to take the plunge and if this years anything like the last one i wish you the very best of luck ;)