Discuss Working while studying in the Electrician Courses : Electrical Quals area at ElectriciansForums.net

T

Tath

Hello! I have a couple of questions that I hope that someone in here might be able to answer. I have been searching and googling, but it's difficult to find answers that fits my situation. I've been trying to find a job here in the UK for a few months. I've moved to the UK from Norway. In Norway I finished the school part of my electrician training, about 2 years worth of studies. What remains, if I wanted to become a certified electrician in Norway, would be 2.5 years of apprenticeship. Instead I have started on a part time study in electrical engineering in Norway while living in the UK. In all likelihood I will use about 6 years on these studies, considering I'm hoping to work on the side and actually spend some time with my family. It is my hope that I can find a job building up valuable experience while I'm studying. My problem is that I can't seem to secure any positions that would grant me this opportunity.

I have done a 17th edition exam simulator and basically passed without the book just using common sense and what regulations happens to correspond with the Norwegian ones, and from what I hear the test itself is simple enough. Would this qualification increase my likelihood of being hired alone? I've read it's pretty much just proof you can read a book, but I don't know how true that is. The cost of just taking the exam is low enough though. There's also the CSCS cards, which seems to be desirable and fairly inexpensive, though again I have no idea which one I'd qualify for, if any.

What work would I even be able to do without any C&G qualifications? For the few years I'd get out of them, I'm not sure I see the value of pouring money into getting these, assuming I'd be qualified to try for the exams in the first place.