Currently reading:
Advice on PV Installation costs.

Discuss Advice on PV Installation costs. in the Solar PV Forum | Solar Panels Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

M

mac1

I am new to MCS, A customer want me to give a price to fit a 10 KW PV system to a flat roof ( 3 phase supply available). Is it better to fit 3 x single phase systems or use a 3 phase inverter?
I know prices of panels vary but can anyone give me an idea of what a reasonable cost for fitting a 10 KW PV system to a large flat roof would be. No special access is required because there is access to the roof within the building.
Can anyone recommend a type of panel to use in this situation.
Thanks.

When fitting to flat roof, bear in mind that the roof needs to last for 25 years also, otherwise the sytem may not be compliant ....

Just got one case where he's going to have to replace it all first, it probably has 10 years worth of life left in it, if he doesn't replace we will put loads of riders and waivers in the contract!

Most are sensible about it since this is a £40 - £50k investment depending upon loads of factors, and he's in danger of messing up his ROI if he doesn't, also remember unless unusal circumstances it'll be 20% VAT.

Last edited:
Hi thank you for that info, I never thought of how long the roof will last?? It is in good condition and fibre Glass but I agree to have wavers in the contract about the roof.
Would you fit 3 x single phase inverters or one 3 phase? . I think 3 single phase inverters would be more reliable. If one stops at least the other 2 carry on but if a 3 phase inverter stops working it all goes down!
What is the cut off point for 5% vat on an installation?

The VAT is not down to size, it's the type of customer.

The reduced rate applies to the installation of certain specified energy-saving
materials (see paragraph 2.5) in:
• residential accommodation (see paragraph 2.16); or
• a building used solely for a relevant charitable purpose (see
paragraph 2.17).