Discuss Becoming a Qualified Supervisor in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
There's been a few changes recently at the company I work for. 2 electrical supervisors and the contract manager left towards the end of last year. Which has led to a few changes as you'd expect.

Our new contract manager has hired 1 Electrical Supervisor but whishes to trial a system of having 2 Qualifying Supervisors working beneath the Electrical Supervisor. This could change as in time we should hire more electricians and get the team back to 20—25, we currently have 10 working in 2 different work streams.

I'm a capable electrician with 10 years experience and have worked on both work streams and have a good working relationship with all the other electricians.

Im tempted to step up and become a QS, but what Is exactly involved and what pressures could I be put under? What experience have you seen happen when somone steps up?

It depends how seriously the role of a QS is taken by your company as to the extent of your responsibility. You would normally audit any reports/certification and this can be nice touch if they let you do it remotely from home but you have to put the work in. From reports (EICRs) they will probably expect you to provide remedial work quotations if that is your companies field. Site visits to audit works should be carried out although companies can be lax in this and finding problems from these audits doesn't always go down well. Oh and the annual visit from your scheme provider if someone throws that in your lap. Go for it but your pay should reflect your new role.