Discuss Employees and tax?.............. in the Business Related area at ElectriciansForums.net

HappyHippyDad

-
Esteemed
Arms
Reaction score
I have injured my back and I feel it is only going to get worse over the years. My plan is to get a lad to help out 2 days a week.

I'll be putting it through the books, but I was wondering if it is very straight forward when you are filling out your tax return. I have simple accounts as I am a sole trader. Is it as simple as putting the amount you have paid him in the correct box?

Do I have to pay him a pension?

Basically what are the factors i need to think about if I have a chap helping me 2 days a week and I plan do it all legit, i.e through the books?

Bring someone in as a freelance. They sort their own tax stuff, you don't have all the paperwork, no pension or holiday pay or sick pay...far too much paperwork! OH, AND YOU CAN SACK HIM AT ANY TIME...
I have a mate who once on a while I use for Labour only and its on a day rate. What he does with the money after I pay him is his business. he gets nothing else from me...

As above Sub contractor way is bit easier then taking them on payroll, however when taking sub contractor on, technically you still have to do it under construction industry scheme and take deduction and pay to hmrc. All it takes is few clicks every months with your chosen software (I use bright pay).

Subcontractor route will be simplest - as long as he's doing work for others as well. If he only works for you then there's a risk of HMRC coming along with IR35 which will be a whole lot of hurt.
If employing, then you'll need to use an agency to manage not just your tax but all the other stuff. The legalities around employing someone are an ever changing minefield - without a proper map.