Discuss Side jobs. Cash in the hand in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Electreacle

-
Trainee
Reaction score
Hi,

Really appreciate the help in advance..

I’ve been asked to install an outside socket and a floodlight with PIR. I’m a 4th year apprentice and feel more than competent in carrying out this small job.. I have my own testers so beforehand I will be checking if I have end to ends R1+R2, a good IR etc etc.

The landlord is renting out individual rooms within The house. Basic HMO setting. The landlord last had his EICR in 2020. Could I still carry out this work without notifying it under a Minor works?

Could I carry out the work and give him a schedule of test results but not sign it? The work I will be doing is just adding to existing circuits.

Hi,

Really appreciate the help in advance..

I’ve been asked to install an outside socket and a floodlight with PIR. I’m a 4th year apprentice and feel more than competent in carrying out this small job.. I have my own testers so beforehand I will be checking if I have end to ends R1+R2, a good IR etc etc.

The landlord is renting out individual rooms within The house. Basic HMO setting. The landlord last had his EICR in 2020. Could I still carry out this work without notifying it under a Minor works?

Could I carry out the work and give him a schedule of test results but not sign it? The work I will be doing is just adding to existing circuits.
There's nothing stopping you from signing a Minor Works certificate for the work, if you are competent - it doesn't ask for qualifications and by providing one you will already be ahead of many 'qualified' people working out there.

Notifying under Part P is a different matter, but since outside stuff was removed, this wouldn't be notifiable since they aren't new circuits, neither presumably altering a circuit in a 'special location'.