Discuss 19.2 V battery question !! in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

T

Tynan

Hi there

New member here with a very basic question (I am no electrician!). :saddam:

I have a 19.2 V / 9000mAh battery (for an electrically assisted bicycle) and the wiring on the charge end needs a little attention. Basically one end of the battery gets plumbed into the bike and supplies it with power and the other end is the end that gets plugged into the charger when recharging.

At the charge end one of the wires is broken and needs soldering together, I am ok with the soldering / heat-shrinking and general repair duties but have zero knowledge of how electricity works with these batteries - so to my question . . . . .

When the battery is unplugged from the mains and the charger (and disconnected from the bike) is it safe for me to touch the red wire in this diagram ? (diagram below) ? To clarify I am talking about the red wire coming from the battery at the charging end, when the battery is disconnected from everything (from the charger / mains and the bicycle) is it ok to handle the red wire that protrudes from the battery ?

Thanks in advance for any help on this !!

Tynan.

ndlops.jpg

ndlops.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
OK I will try and give you opinion
The design appears to be poor,in that the charger trailing wires are permanently connected when the battery is fitted to the bike,I would have thought the battery housing should have a removable plug/socket arrangement at the housing

Soldering produces heat that will migrate upwards,when soldering try and keep the lead upright or use an heatsink near where the soldering is to be done

Dangerous voltages are 30 volt RMS (household type supplies) and 50 volts DC ( battery supplies)therefore your battery voltage is within that safe limit
Damage to the battery itself can occur if you inadvertantly short out an adjascent wire whilst soldering, by melting into the insulation,