Discuss 3 phase factory lighting in the Canada area at ElectriciansForums.net

B

bal

Hi - first time post:

Hi,

I'm a technician in a factory and have been tasked with sorting the lights out. We have approximately 60 x 250 w single phase halogen lights which I would like to control via contactors. Without going into detail the following is my take on things:

I've got a basic design where I have 3 phase plus neutral coming into a control box, this would then be split into 6 single phase feeds - two from each leg of the 3 phase feed. Each single phase supply would feed one contactor which in turn would switch 10 lights (6 contactors - 60 lights). For load balancing each leg of the 3 phase supply would therefore feed the same number of lights (20 lights each).

Each radial light circuit would be protected by a B6MCB. The single phase feeds (one per contactor) would be protected by a B25MCB each.

Should I be looking at protecting the incoming 3 phase feed with a 3 pole plus neutral MCB or should a simply fit 3 individual fuses on the 3 lives??

I understand that if I use a 3 pole plus Neutral MCB if one phase is overloaded the whole breaker will trip. If I use 3 individual fuses and one blows wont the remaining phases be unbalanced??.

Any thoughts would be appreciated. I

Hope I haven't lost anyone lol!!

regards

I'm not quite clear on what you are protecting with the B6 mcb is it the contactor circuit or the actual lighting load as it is undersize for 10 x 250w fittings and 15 / 20A may be more appropriate to cope with inrush

Can you post a diagram of what you propose

your 3 fuse idea is a good one and i wouldnt worry too much about imbalance, think of the impact 40 lights on L2 & L3 will have on your overall plant loading (ive worked in relatively small factories with multiple motors pulling 300A per phase). i also agree with above coment on the B6 breaker.