Posting a message to the forum will remove the above advertisement
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Discuss Advice , changing immersion hearted switch to digital timer in the Electrical Forum area at ElectrciansForums.co.uk.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Please make sure you checkout our forum sponsors, many do discounts for members and, they keep the forum free to use.
  1. Conchur
    Offline

    Conchur Conker

    Location:
    Belfast
    Hi guys me and my partner have recently moved into a new property that us an immersion heater switch for warm water , problem is one of us always forgets to turn it off and it just burns through the electricity so therefore I bought a digital timer so it can be set when to come on and go off so we save money ,

    I turned electric off at mains and took the immersion switch off and it has 3 live red wires going into switch and an earth screwed to the metal housing , now the digital timer I bought has connections for 1. Neutral 2.live from mains and 3.live output to appliance 4. Not used, as it says .

    Bought from screwdix king shield socket box timer 7 day electronic , any ideas how I fit this together as I'm not to sure and any advice greatly appreciated , the immersion seitch currentlynfitted has a layout of com L1 , L1 , l2

    Thanks very much guys not sure if I can upload pictures with being a new member but if required I can no problem , cheers again
     
  2. LankyWill
    Offline

    LankyWill Guest

    Why have you attempted to fit and meddle with something that you are clearly not qualified to do so. I can change a washer in a tap but you don't see me fitting a gas fire.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. Pete999
    Online

    Pete999 Forum Mentor

    Location:
    Northampton
    Business Name:
    None
    If I were you I would get a Qualified Electrician in to do this work, shouldn't cost much, you don't sound confident enough to do this work.
     
  4. Conchur
    Offline

    Conchur Conker

    Location:
    Belfast
    I can't afford an electrician at present that's why I was trying to do it myself , I trust myself to do it have all the right tools just not 100% sure about the wiring didn't expect there to be 3 live wires ?
     
  5. buzzlightyear
    Offline

    buzzlightyear still kicking sand, before pushing up daisies . Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    star command
    please check you insurance ![​IMG]
     
    • Funny Funny x 2
  6. Specialist
    Offline

    Specialist Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    South Wales
    Your new digital time switch will need a Neutral connection to work, without that then you can't use it.
    As has been said above, you really need to get an Electrician to sort this out.
     
  7. Ian1981
    Offline

    Ian1981 Forum Mentor

    Location:
    North east
    water heaters also should have double pole isolation so unless your timeclock is double pole which normally they aren't then I'd leave the double pole switch in then come off that to a timer feeding the immersion
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Conchur
    Offline

    Conchur Conker

    Location:
    Belfast
    Thanks for replies I have no problem fitting it I know the neutral goes in number one and lives go in two and three , i know there's a 4th connection but it says not used , my problem is I have a 3rd live left over with nowhere to go so I put that in number four or is the timer not sufficient for my requirements thanks

    image.jpg
     
  9. Conchur
    Offline

    Conchur Conker

    Location:
    Belfast
    That is a picture of the current switch , just want to make sure the airings right the advice is greatly appreciated thanks

    image.jpg

    image.jpg
     
  10. Ian1981
    Offline

    Ian1981 Forum Mentor

    Location:
    North east
    Not sure what you mean by 3rd live.
    But excluding the cpcs a minute you should have a mains in and a mains out 4 wires

    Looks like a light switch!
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
  11. Conchur
    Offline

    Conchur Conker

    Location:
    Belfast
    Just uploaded another picture Ian is that any use mate?
     
  12. Pete999
    Online

    Pete999 Forum Mentor

    Location:
    Northampton
    Business Name:
    None
    What size in KWs is the heater?
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  13. Ian1981
    Offline

    Ian1981 Forum Mentor

    Location:
    North east
    That can't be for your water heater bud irrespective of what's written on the plate
     
  14. Specialist
    Offline

    Specialist Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    South Wales
    Do you have a Neutral supply to the old switch ? In your opening post you only mentioned 3 Lives and an Earth.
     
  15. buzzlightyear
    Offline

    buzzlightyear still kicking sand, before pushing up daisies . Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    star command
    ring confuse .com
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
Loading...
Similar Threads - Advice changing immersion Forum Date
Advice about Agencies - Any recommendations Electrical Forum Friday at 11:43 PM
Looking for advice on this one if you can. Electrical Course Trainees Only Thursday at 12:16 PM
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Electricians Directory Post a Domestic Job Post a Commercial Job