Discuss Advice on power cord options for a new dishwasher in the Electrical Appliances Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Charlie77

DIY
Reaction score
Hey there, I've done some simple electrical work, but I'm no expert.

I'm installing a new LG 24 inch dishwasher (Model #LDT5678SS) with 120 volts and 15 amps.

The power cord provided is 5.4 feet which is too short to reach the closest outlet. I need a cord that is at least 8 feet. The last dishwasher had a cord that long. The only replacement cord I could easily find was a 14 gauge, 15 amp general workshop cord, and it's 10 feet long. (Photo attached). That will easily reach the outlet.

But, my question is: Will 10 foot cord work appropriately for the dishwasher and what it needs to do? Is there a significant enough difference between the standard cord that's 5.4 feet and a 10 foot cord that I would need to either hardwire the dishwasher or have a new outlet installed within the 5.4 foot range?

Thanks for anyone's help, feedback, and/or links to additional resources. If I'm missing anything or not providing enough info, please let me know that too. Thanks, Charlie

Attachments

• New cord for dishwasher.jpeg
    274.7 KB · Views: 5

Reply to Advice on power cord options for a new dishwasher in the Electrical Appliances Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Similar Threads

Hi, I'm a hobbyist without formal training. I'm looking to power audio/video equipment over several hundred feet of extension cords. I have 2...
Replies
Views
I have a small power washer with a two-wire cord and GFCI plug. My outdoor and garage receptacles are on a "house GFCI" circuit, wired in series...
Replies
Views
I may have posted this before but not sure if it made it in. I want to install an EV Charger in my garage. The panel is two stories up and the...
Replies
Views
I have a professionally installed Generator Interlock on my 200amp load center in my 1-family residence here in the US. I have 10 gauge wire from...
Replies
Views