Discuss Advice on reduced live-neutral reading in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hello,
I'm not an electrician, more one of those 'competent DIYers', so probably the worst kind :)

My electric shower broke, the shower firm came out, he was in about 2 minutes I'd say. In that time he put his meter on the terminal block, said there was only a small 60v neutral-live, 190v on neutral-earth, 240 on live-earth, meaning a fault with my supply, said I'd be charged and left.

He never once isolated the shower, so I did some testing and recreated his fault and got the same results, disconnected the shower at the terminal block inside the shower (where supply/feed meet) and my readings were normal (240v neutral-live, 0v neutral-earth, 240 live-earth). Repeated a few times with the same working when disconnected failing with shower. So I basically went and tightened all the connections in the shower circuit, and everything now just works and has been for the past month.

So I reply back the next day saying, "you didn't isolate shower to test is there a reason? and it's now working after essentially tightening connections at the shower side not touching anything on mine, can you reconsider?" All they are saying is - what you did is irrelevant, isolating shower is irrelevant, a reduced voltage on neutral-live means it's your mains and you have an intermittent fault and it's not the shower. If relevant it's a 9.5kw shower on a straight clipped run, no insulation of about 7 metres on a dedicated RCD using 10mm cable.

Anyone care to offer advice, i.e. am I completely wrong with my testing and what they say is correct?

Last edited:
If the problem was not within the shower itself, then the shower guy was within his rights to declare it to be a problem with the supply.
Had you called a competent electrician instead, he would have discovered and corrected the problem.