Discuss AutoCAD in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

L

Liam12

Hi Can anyone tell me how to get good at using autoCAD, anyone out there with experience of using it and any tips would be great, I'm new to this as just started a Foundation degree and want to get used to it for upcoming assignments, thanks

Liam, I self-taught myself AutoCAD many versions ago. It all depends really on what you want to use it for: 2D straight line drawings are simple enough, and you may benefit from starting with the basics of doing things like drawing simple shapes not by dragging the mouse around but actually typing x & y coordinates, learn to use the command entry (the GUI is just a cover-up on what has always been a text entry system anyway) and learn what the different types of lines do.

There's loads of good books on it, give amazon a whirl.

I used AutoCad release 12 to design flightcases when I owned a flightcase manufacturing company.

I went on a course to learn how to use it, but it's been a long time since I last used it I've forgotten how to now.

As Rockingit says, there are books available, and there are Student Editions of AutoCad available from the manufacturers (AutoDesk I think) that are fully functional & with the instruction book at a fraction of the full cost.

The things to 'not give up on' and really pay attention to are Layers - very very important, the difference between 'paper' and 'plot' spaces and in the recent versions you have 'layouts' which are also a very important thing to grasp in order to print (known as 'plotting' from the old days of pen roller plotters) your work in meaningful ways.