• IMPORTANT: Please note that nobody on this forum should be seeking from or providing advice to those who are not competent and / or trained and qualified in their field (local laws permitting). There is a discussion thread on this global industry-wide matter HERE. This also has more information about the warning with regards to sharing electrical advice in some countries. By using this forum you do so in agreement to this.

Discuss Brick Lights. SWA terminating. in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hello all,
Just after some guidance, i am a qualified Auto Electrician with a good number of years behind me. While confident in my own ability in domestic applications i am not fully aware of the Regs.

I am planning on installing 3 or 4 (mind not made up yet) brick lights in my garden wall parallel with my drive.

I intend on running 1.5mm SWA along the wall clipped with SWA cleats which will be circa 400mm above the level of the soil in the garden looping in and out of wiska Junction Boxes with the correct earthed glands etc.

The question is am i then OK to run flex (maybe pond flex) from the junction box through the wall to the back of the brick light. The wall is 2 bricks thick (double thickness) i will use the correct glad on the flex.
(The picture below shows the lay out if it uploads ok.) Credit Google image search

Thank you
James.
Brick Lights. SWA terminating. {filename} | ElectriciansForums.net

Brick Lights. SWA terminating. j box - EletriciansForums.net

can't see a problem with your suggested method. bear in mind the circuit needs to be RCD protected (18th Ed.), so be wary of possible water ingress. ( unless of course, you designed it pre Jan. 1st. 2019.o_Oo_Oo_O.)

Super thank you very much.
That has confirmed my thoughts on the matter.