Discuss BS EN 60204 Machinery testing in the Industrial Electricians' Talk area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi all, I am an electrician working for a OEM machinery manufacturer based in Germany, we are the local hub that is now taking over the installation of the machines in the UK, the machines are liquid filling, packing and palletizing.

So on to my question, as I understand it the machines themselves from the main isolator coming into the machine and the associated cabling to motors and external components are covered by BS EN 60204 and not BS 7671 (I am JIB approved electrical with BS 7671 18th edition) If we start to carry out the installation they will need to be tested, to my knowledge this is not currently done, but if I am getting involved then I want to make sure it is all done correctly and above board

If it is covered under BS EN 60204 then we don’t need NIC or ECA accreditation, but do we need to get the Inspection and Testing cert, although this is primarily for BS 7671, are there any guidelines for testing on machinery installations that I need to be aware of.

Any thoughts or advice gratefully received

The design and construction of the machine would hopefully have been independently verified to the standard you mention (EN or IEC version - same thing) by an accredited laboratory, such as Intertek or SGS or UL or BSI etc. or if your German machinery manufacturer has the in-house capability, by the QA function in the ISO 9001 German company, and a Declaration of Conformity issued detailing the Directives and standards the machine complies with. (electrical safety, mechanical safety, electromagnetic compatibility, maybe environmental, ROHS etc)